Skip to content

NWMS Earns the Cigna Care Designation!

NWMS is proud to announce that we have earned several quality recognition’s from Cigna! 

Cigna Logo

Here are the recognition’s we have achieved through a rigorous quality evaluation done by Cigna.

Cigna Care Designation-

Cigna Care Designation (CCD) distinguishes network physicians who practice in one of the 21 specialties reviewed and who meet certain quality and cost-efficiency measures. 

Cigna Care Network Tier 1

Cigna offers a tiered benefit design option available to customers where they are afforded a lower copayment or coinsurance level for covered services provided by Tier 1 providers than if they select a participating non-Tier 1 provider. Tier 1 providers are listed on the directory with the “Cigna Care Network – Tier 1 Provider” designation.

Adherence to Evidence Based Medicine (EBM) Standards

Doctor is in approximately the top tier of practices within their geographic market for use of evidence based medicine. Measuring adherence to Evidence Based Medicine (EBM) standards can illustrate how well a doctor uses recommended medical guidelines for treating chronic diseases and providing preventive care.

Cigna evaluates the quality of doctor care using measurement rules developed by the National Quality Forum (NQF), Ambulatory Care Quality Alliance (AQA), Healthcare Effectiveness Data Information Set (HEDIS), or evidence based standards developed by independent physician organizations (such as the American College of Physicians, the American College of Cardiology, or the American Diabetes Association). These rules span 38 disease and preventive care conditions

National Committee for Quality Assurance (NCQA) Recognition

Awards or recognitions that come from experts in the medical industry and indicate the doctor provides excellent patient-centered care in one or more of the following areas: diabetes, heart and stroke, back pain, use of technology for improved patient care, or commitment to comprehensive treatment approaches that involve other doctors, specialists and the patient’s family.

NCQA Physician Practice Connections – Patient-Centered Medical Home™ (PCMH) – recognizes doctors that effectively manage their patient’s care by coordinating with other doctors, specialists and family members to deliver a holistic, or comprehensive, patient treatment.
NCQA Patient-Centered Specialty Practice (PCSP) – recognizes practices that have demonstrated commitment to patient-centered care and clinical quality through: streamlined referral processes and care coordination with referring clinicians, timely patient and caregiver-focused care management and continuous clinical quality improvement.